The necessary ‘first post’!

Welcome to my blog!

Ok, so now I’ve sat here with that first sentence staring at me for about 30 minutes…..  Blogging is something that doesn’t come naturally to me.  I’m an oversharer, but also extremely private.  A dichotomy, I know, but true.  In person, I overshare.  Online, I tend to keep the truth pretty close to the vest.  But I think that if I’m going to blog, I’m going to have to give up some of that privacy and be willing to be honest, otherwise what’s the point, right?  

If you’re willing to cheer me on, watch me stumble and fall, promise not to judge too much, then I will do my best to be as free with my thoughts as I can.

 

I’ve had one of those days today that feels like the start of another growth spurt.  Or maybe the apex of one – not sure yet.  These things are often best analyzed through hindsight! (right, I also have a tendency to overuse exclamation points – sorry in advance for that one)

In my youth I was fairly fearless when it came to big life changes.  One weekend in Northern Ontario after quitting my job in Hamilton I decided to move to Vancouver, and a few months later I was there.  One day sitting on the porch in Niagara Falls with a friend, I mentioned wanting to take a trip across the US.  The next thing I knew I was buying a VW camper and less than 6 months later, we were on the road for 2 1/2 months!

For the past decade I’ve been more cautious about big shifts. I’ve spent too much time worrying about the consequences and forgot how great it feels to just jump!  My favourite quotes – “Take the leap and build your wings on the way down” and “Leap and the net shall appear”.  I am going back to this life philosophy of mine.  It was way more rewarding and the special moments in my life usually happen when I stop thinking so damn much about what ‘might’ happen!

So this is the beginning of my next leap.  Help me build some wings??

Dscf0431

3 thoughts on “The necessary ‘first post’!

Leave a Reply

