The Southernmost Point in the Continental US

For those of us that have spent time in the Keys, Key West is like a trip to the ‘big city’ when you live in a small town.  It’s noisy with lots of people, music, drinking, restaurants, shopping, etc, etc.  This can be disconcerting when you’ve spent days fishing and swimming and being ‘busy’ just with daily life. 

Everything is a journey to get to here.  The Keys are a collection of coral islands connected by one road – the Overseas Highway – 127.5 miles of often single-lane driving from one end to the other.  At the end of the road, is Key West.  Boisterous and with a life of its own, it’s a different breed from the rest of the keys.  Here’s a taste of this historic and vibrant town:

Did I mention that there’s a bit of an anarchist sentiment here, particularly in Key West?  A definite love/hate relationship with the tourists.

08_kw_save_the_keys

Art and music are plentiful from galleries and festivals to street art and barroom crooners.

08_key_west_art_spaceman
08_kw_musician_in_bar

(above photo by Katrusia Marunchak Paravani)

08_kw_without_music

(above photo by Katrusia Marunchak Paravani)

The Key West Cemetery is beautiful and sad at the same time.  A photographer’s dream as there is no shortage of amazing images to be captured here.

08_key_west_cemetery_angel
08_key_west_cemetery_little_angel
08_key_west_cemetery_green_angel
08_key_west_cemetery_green_angel_2

This coat of arms is on the gate to “A los martires de cuba” a section for Cuban freedom-fighters:

08_key_west_cemetery_coat_of_arms

The Cuban heritage in the Keys is celebrated and honoured at a beautiful museum on Duval Street.  Here are a couple of images from the museum that I thought were particularly lovely and intriguing:

08_kw_cuban_art_1
08_kw_cuban_art_2

And of course there are no shortage of watering holes to find fun characters and to drink a rum punch or two!

08_kw_me__parrothead

We celebrate Easter Sunday with a 10-yr-old tradition started by some friends called D4J (Drinkin’ for Jesus).  It began as a reason for friends to get together at least once a year to celebrate the family that we create.  This year I celebrated with the family that I was born into!

08_kw_jesus_takes_the_cup08_kw_kat__jesus08_kw_me__jesus08_kw_two_of_my_favourite_people

My dad telling a story!  As you do when you’re bellied up to the bar in Key West!

08_kw_tato_tellin_tales

My sister took this great photo of Easter Sunday Chicks!!

08_kw_chicks

Some of the random beauty that you come across when you wander the streets of Key West:

08_key_west_boats08_key_west_dog_float08_key_west_flowers08_key_west_palm08_key_west_shells_on_ledge08_key_west_sunset

And some random silliness!

08_key_west_dog_float08_kw_hello_lionel08_kw_rooster_sign08_kw_barstool_sailor

I have some of my own history here in Key West.  At the age of four I came here for the first time and had my photo taken in front of this amazing Banyan tree!

08_kw_me__the_banyan_tree

And for me, no trip to Key West is complete without replenishing my supply of Kino Sandals!

08_kw_kino_sandals

Have I missed anything?  I’m sure I have!!  But you’ll just have to come and explore for yourself.  Stray off the beaten path and make Key West your own.  There’s a lot of magic to be found here.

08_kw_two_of_my_favourite_people_2

Leave a Reply

