My Backyard Garden Through My Eyes

I recently took a 20′ x 1.5′ unruly garden patch and made it into my summer vegetable market. It was full of 2 foot high weeds with incredible root systems, lots of worms and quite a few dandelions.  Some crawling ivy type intruders and one salvageable hosta rounded out the foliage I had to contend with. My dad helped with the first turn of soil and some overall guidance on what to think about when planting, but I’m happy to say I’ve done most of it on my own.

After the first soil turn I hand-sifted every bit of dirt to remove as many roots as possible. A few unwanted encounters here and there (nothing like digging your hands into fresh cat poop), but mostly it felt great to have embedded soil under my fingernails.

It's important to lay out the garden before putting anything into the ground.

It’s important to lay out the garden before putting anything into the ground.

I’ve planted 6 varieties of tomatoes – all different sizes and colours, kale, sage, lovage (a celery-like herb with a great name), green onions, red sail lettuce, cucumbers for making pickles, dill and shallots.  All pretty simple stuff to grow so that we can enjoy a successful garden and maybe get a bit more daring next year.  

The only things that didn't survive the first few days were a couple of dill plants.

The only things that didn’t survive the first few days were a couple of dill plants.

Now that the garden is growing and the plants are all taking root, it’s my big art project until it becomes my vegetable market.

 

Shallots

Shallots

 

Cucumber Plant

Cucumber Plant

 

Tomato leaf

Tomato leaf

 

Tomato Blossom 2

Tomato Blossom 2

 

Tomato Blossom

Tomato Blossom

 

Sage

Sage

 

Red Sail Lettuce

Red Sail Lettuce

 

Kale

Kale

 

 

Leave a Reply

